

## **Attendance**

Present:

## **Board of Trustees:**

Clara Alder (remote)
Kent K. Alder (remote)
John Y. Ferry (remote)
Gina Gagon (remote)
David H. Huntsman (remote)

Wayne L. Niederhauser (remote)
Steve Palmer (remote)
David A. Petersen (remote)
Jacey Skinner (remote)
Tessa White (remote)

## Absent:

Kacie Malouf

# **Utah State University Representatives:**

Janalyn Brown (remote)
Noelle Cockett (remote)
Dave Cowley (remote)
Rich Etchberger (remote)
John Ferguson (remote)
Nancy Hanks (remote)
Jane Irungu (remote)
Mica McKinney (remote)

Eric Olsen (remote)
Bill Plate (remote)
Larry Smith (remote)
Brian Steed (remote)
Robert Wagner (remote)
Devin Wiser (remote)

- 1. Welcome and Introductory Items Chair Kent Alder
- 2. Explanation of Promotion and Tenure Process Provost Larry Smith

Provost Larry Smith shared a PowerPoint presentation concerning promotion and tenure. Provost Smith expressed the process is a major undertaking and takes an enormous amount of time and care to look into the training, teaching, research, and evaluation of faculty. Trustee Huntsman inquired if Utah State University's process is similar to their peer institutions. Provost Smith indicated that it is quite similar though there have been some issues nationally in which some institutions

use more adjunct faculty to do the majority of teaching. However, in a majority of courses USU students are exposed to are by core faculty. Smith continued his explanation with the information that every untenured faculty member has a mentor. The tenure process takes approximately six years and during this time, the faculty member has an annual review with their department head to make sure they are on track. The department head then makes a recommendation to the Dean who then takes the information to the Provost and the Promotion and Tenure Committee. This committee comes to a consensus and the names of faculty are then given to the President who makes the final decision of taking them to the Board of Trustees.

#### Closed Session

#### Motion:

Motion moved by John Y. Ferry and motion seconded by Clara Alder. Roll call vote initiated at 10:17 a.m. Voting was unanimous in the affirmative and the meeting moved into closed session.

#### **Attendance**

## Present:

Clara Alder (remote)
Kent K. Alder (remote)
John Y. Ferry (remote)
Gina Gagon (remote)
David H. Huntsman (remote)

Wayne L. Niederhauser (remote)
Steve Palmer (remote)
David A. Petersen (remote)
Jacey Skinner (remote)
Tessa White (remote)

#### Absent:

Kacie Malouf

## **Utah State University Representatives:**

Janalyn Brown (remote) Noelle Cockett (remote) Mica McKinney (remote) Larry Smith (remote)
Robert Wagner (remote)

- 4. Chair's Report Chair Kent Alder
  - 4.1. 2023 Commencement details

Chair Alder discussed the upcoming Statewide and Logan campus commencement and convocation ceremonies. He stated all events were covered with Trustee attendance except for Logan campus Caine College of the Arts. He reminded the board to complete the RSVP survey. Alder

gave a short update on the charter school discussion. He and others have met several times and asked questions. President Cockett shared the School of the Future group including David Forbush, Parker Fawson, and Stan Lockhart were planning to meet with the USU Board of Trustees Executive Committee to discuss the extension requested in the March 2023 meeting. President Cockett stated the election for the Board of Trustees chair and vice chair will take place within the month of April so the vote can be ratified in the May meeting. Trustee Palmer will be reaching out to get nominees for each position. Trustee Palmer will be rolling off the trustees as his tenure as alumni president is ending. Four members of the current Board of Trustees are up for renewal and President Cockett has recommended to Governor Cox they stay on the board. The Governor will need to approve which typically comes in July.

# 5. Action Agenda

## 5.1. Promotion and Tenure 2023

#### Motion:

A motion was made to approve the 2023 promotion and tenure as presented by Provost Larry Smith.

Motion moved by David H. Huntsman and motion seconded by Wayne L. Niederhauser. Voting was unanimous in the affirmative and the motion passed.

## 6. ADJOURN

#### Motion:

Chair Alder called for a motion to adjourn.

Motion moved by John Y. Ferry and motion seconded by Gina Gagon. Voting was unanimous in the affirmative and the meeting was adjourned at 11:15 a.m.

Kent alder	XBROWN
Kent K. Alder, Chair	Janalyn Brown, Secretary (minutes taken by Janalyn Brown)
May 3, 2023 Date Approved	